To My Anyway Friend.

This picture was taken during our senior year retreat.

“An Anyway Friend is the one person in your life who no matter what they say or do, no matter what they’ve been through with you, they love you anyway.”

Recently, I’ve been watching a new (well, new to me) show called “Private Practice”. At a wedding, Sam gave a toast to his daughter who got married that day. He then proceeds to explain the concept of an “Anyway Friend”. I was intrigued by the idea and thought to myself, who was mine?

This is my “Anyway Friend”, Shawie. She and I have been through a lot of things. Some good, some bad. But like in most lasting relationships, the good would always outweigh everything else. She and I have not been friends for very long, but I’ve always believed in this quotation from Rabindranath Tagore which is:

“Depth of friendship does not depend on length of acquaintance.”

We weren’t the kind of friends who had that instant connection. Ours developed slowly, but surely. I’ve always thought our friendship is like soup. It’s quite silly, but I really thought about this. In making soup, you start out with some key ingredients. For us, that was having common friends and interests. Then you put the soup to a slow simmer. In a way, that’s how our friendship developed. It took us years to really get to know each other. But when we did, we developed this mutual trust, which became one of the things I hold dearest to my heart. The next step is to mix the soup. Trust me, life did not leave us unscathed. The world has given us a lot of challenges, and we didn’t always pass with flying colors. There were disagreements and spouts, little issues that always lead to questions and uncertainty. But we rose above it, that I can definitely say. We never let those things hold us back from what was and is truly important: that we would always have each other’s backs. No matter what. Finally, the soup is finished and ready to be served. And thus, we arrive to the conclusion, our current state. Just like the soup, which took long to prepare, our unique mix made our friendship into what it is today. Talk about a lengthy metaphor.

So why exactly did I write about my “Anyway Friend”? Well, I miss her terribly so. Right now, she is 6560 miles away, in Vancouver to be exact. She spends summer after summer in Canada, you’d think I’d gotten used to the repetition, but I didn’t. And I don’t think I ever will. So here’s to Shawie, in the hopes that one day, I’d get to spend a whole summer just wasting time with you. Sending all my love from back home. ♡

