Semi-Charmed Kind Of Life.

I’m not really the type of person who owns a lot of jewelry. But a year ago, I discovered the joy of charm bracelets. Ahh, yes. The shining, shimmering things really caught my attention. :) I love that you can personalize your bracelet with charms that symbolize a significant time in your life, a special event, or even just something you love. It’s a subtle statement, a look into what kind of person you are. It’s also a way in which  I can document my life in a more concrete approach. OR, it can just look really pretty with almost anything you decide to wear. ;) Here’s what mine looks like:

In hindsight, I could’ve taken a better photo…

It’s nothing much, I know, but I really do love it. I chose this particular chain ’cause of my grandma. She has the same one with just a butterfly charm on it, and I wanted mine to look like hers. :) It’s not seen here, but there’s actually a swan attached at the end of the link which acts as a charm when placed on your wrist. Now for some explaining. I chose the airplane to represent my love of travel. I love going to new places and immersing myself in their culture. When I go to a new place, I usually never want to leave. But then, I realized this: the world is a big place. There’s much to see, and I shouldn’t be caught up in just one beautiful setting. I’m already making plans to go to World Youth Day 2013 which will take place in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. And, if everything goes according to plan, a possible 2 month stay in France for JTA. (I really hope my grades are good enough for this…) The next one is actually the first charm that I’ve ever bought. It’s special ’cause I got it from my trip to Calgary to visit some relatives. And of course, it symbolizes love. We all give love, and we all embrace it. Love is ever-present in our lives, whether we feel it or not. In good times and in bad, love is there. The last in the line-up is actually my favorite one, my duck charm. Where I went to high school, we have this wonderful experience called Days With The Lord. In a nutshell, it’s a 3 day event wherein you experience His loving presence in a very different way. Can’t really disclose anything else, we’ve all been sworn to secrecy. One thing is for certain, though. It was an amazing experience. One that I will cherish throughout the course of my life.

So there you go, that’s my charm bracelet. I’m planning to make new purchases soon, if my mum allows it. Also, it is never too late to start collecting these. It was quite intimidating at first. I felt pressured to fill it up immediately and to make it look “full”. But really, that’s not necessary. It’s been really fun to pick out these charms one at a time, and that made it all the more valuable to me. I feel like it tells a story, and really, it does. 

