Running With Determination, ‘Cause You Are My Destination.

This photo was taken during my first trip to Anvaya Cove, Bataan.

Yes, that is an actual photo of me running. I guess I should explain first. I’m not really what some may call “physically fit”. I do horribly at sports and can be described by the Filipino word lampa. What I’m trying to say is, I’m clumsy and uncoordinated as heck. Sad, I know, but it’s the ugly truth. Funny how I came to be, though. When I was younger, I used to play outside a lot. Touch taya, langit lupa, patintero, just to name a few. As I grew up, more time was spent indoors and my drive to get up and get moving significantly lessened. As the years went by, it seemed that all physical activities required certain skills which I definitely did not posses.

In my recent search for happiness, I’ve found that what I particularly want to become is FIT. More than that, I’ve actually been itching to partake in a marathon! In order to achieve that goal, I have to be somehow, well, fit. :) So, for me to be able to get into running (or jogging) shape, I’ve decided to purchase my own pedometer:

Ahh, something to finally give me that boost of energy to get moving.

Tada! A pedometer! Some people might think, why buy a machine that simply counts steps? Well, I’m the type of person who likes to constantly be motivated, this little device will give me that push I’m looking for. :) I’m really happy with what I bought, and I don’t regret it a single bit.

Just like Gretchen Rubin, I will be starting a 10,000 steps a day commitment. I know it’ll be hard, but I’ve got to try my best. I know that doing this will definitely be worthwhile, my body will definitely be thanking me in the long run.

Here’s a list of goals that I’ve come up with:

  1. Start walking more often.
    I’m planning to walk as often as I can. If I can walk instead of using the car, then why not?
  2. Take 10,000 steps a day.
    This one is gonna be pretty tough, especially since I’m restricted by the fact that I can’t go out much too often. If all else fails, I shall run on our good old treadmill. This is a preparation for the final end-goal which is…
  3. Running in a Marathon.  
    I’ve always dreamt of simply just finishing in a run. It’s enough for me to know that I didn’t give up on something truly important and exhilarating. If I cross that finish line, I’m a winner already.A marathon which I would’ve liked to participate in was Outbreak Manila. The usual run was made even more exciting by the fact that you get to run away from zombies, how awesome is that? Unfortunately, I was in Boracay at that time with my friends and was not able to participate. Fortunatelyhowever, marathons happen more often than what one might think.
  4. Get Fit, Get Moving.

I’m really excited for this Marathon. It’s gonna be tough, but anything worth doing has got to have a little pain involved. Wish me luck! Oh, and the Title for my Post comes from the lyrics of a song called “Steps” by Orla Gartland. She’s incredibly talented, view her Youtube page here:  http://www.youtube.com/user/MusicMaaad :)
